I Saw Niall Horan+Band at the Today Show, and Here’s Why It’s Important

I’m a firm believer that in order to be positive, you must surround yourself with positive people and influences. Surround yourself with things that make you happy. Every person knows of specific people and activities that make them happy. The kind of people and activities that brighten your mood and make you feel positive in general. Better yet, the people and activities that take away you’re feelings of doubt, criticism, and insecurities for as little or as much time as possible. Music and concerts make me very, very happy.

My all time favorite band has to be One Direction (Harry Styles, Niall Horan, Louis Tomlinson and Liam Payne have been a main source of excitement, positivity, and happiness in my life since late 2011-early 2012). Now, as a 20 year old student and writer, the love still hasn’t faded. And somehow I’ve been blessed with amazing friends and opportunities, because today I was able to go to New York City with one of my great friends, Jessica, and see Niall Horan perform some of his new music with his amazing band: Gerry Morgan, Jake Curran, John Bird, and Louis Querelle.

After pulling an all nighter and waiting in the rainy New York City streets from 3:40 in the morning until about 6:30 in the morning, Niall and his band hit the stage. And at that moment, all of my insecurities, my negative thoughts, and my feelings of hatred towards my “flaws” disappeared. Music is magical, especially when it’s performed so well. And boy did they perform well!!!

Jessica won VIP passes for her and a guest (so thankful that she chose me), and we managed to score an amazing view. Seeing Niall, Gerry, Jake, John, and Louis perform was breathtaking. I’m not very hard to miss; I’m a six-foot-one, curly-haired, curvy young woman. And I was pretty darn close to the stage. I swear, connections were made between me and some of the band (I really think there was some eye contact between Niall and me, as well as between a few band members who should remain nameless for this blog post). (Niall, Gerry, Jake, John, and/or Louis– if you read this and you have no clue who I am, I’ll be sad, so don’t tell me. If you did make eye contact with me, though, thank you!)

Usually, I break eye contact with others right away. Even with family members and close friends. When making eye contact, my insecurities emerge. I feel as if others are judging me. They’re categorizing me as weird, odd-looking, or just plain ugly. Because I’m tall and curvy, I feel like I stand out…and not in a good way. I feel like out of everyone, attractive men are probably especially judgmental when looking at me. They’re used to looking over pretty girls, and for some reason I don’t always categorize myself as pretty. Today, I did, though. (Okay, not when I was soaking wet from the rain…but after I dried off a bit, I do think I looked great!)

I’m not saying that any of the (VERY ATTRACTIVE) band members thought I was attractive, they probably didn’t and instead thought I was a bit weird or overly-excited throughout their performance…but I managed to hold eye contact and think positively. Which is huge! I managed to convince myself that we did, in fact, share a few moments. And that I’m worth those moments, despite my insecurities. And who knows, maybe they didn’t think I was weird. Maybe they were admiring me as I admired all of them? Who knows! 

We are often our worst critics, whether we have bad body image or low-self esteem in any area of our lives (personality wise, appearance wise, talent wise, etc). Niall and his band may not have known about my insecurities, but making eye contact with me was a major confidence boost for me. It served as a reminder that other people don’t see in us what we see in ourselves.

Today’s concert was an amazing experience, and I cannot believe how lucky I am. More importantly, I don’t know how to fully express my gratitude for Jess (who took me to the concert) or for Niall, Gerry, Jake, John, and Louis. Today I was extremely happy. I felt special. I felt acknowledged by one of my all time favorite singers, and one of my new favorite bands.

To Niall, Gerry, Jake, John, and Louis— Thank you for today. Thank you for sharing your talent, and for making me feel special. Thank you for making me so happy. I can’t wait to see you guys on tour and listen to more of your music! 

To all of my readers— Find someone or something that makes you feel validated. That makes you feel special. That makes you feel happier than you ever thought imaginable. Today’s concert did that for me. I hope you can find people and events that bring out these same feelings for you.

Check out some of my pictures from the concert below! And let me know in the comments who/what makes you feel completely happy. How are you going to bring more happiness into your life? I can tell you what I’m going to do—buy more concert tickets!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

UPDATE: Read my Odyssey article about my experience here!

Leave a Reply

