Make Everyday a Bright, Sunshiny Day

Somehow, it’s already May. The year is nearly at its halfway mark, and time is flying by. While it is important to balance responsibilities like school, work, and household chores, it is also important to make every day count. Do things that make you happy. Life does not slow down or stop for anybody or anything, and if you go through days, weeks, or months feeling nothing but boredom and exhaustion, your mindset and outlook on life will turn completely negative.

What makes you happy? Think about it…the little things and the big things. Is it being with your best friend? Going out to dinner with your parents/grandparents? Maybe it’s going to the movies with a special someone, or going on a walk with your dog. Maybe it’s singing along to your favorite songs in your car or in your house, when no one is there to hear you. Or maybe you’re at your happiest when you are watching your favorite show, reflecting back on happy memories, planning once-in-a-lifetime events like seeing your favorite artist/band on tour, etc. If it helps, write a list of people, places, and things that bring you joy. Keep this list somewhere where you won’t lose it, whether it’s on your phone, your refrigerator, your closet door, or your computer. Everyday, try to do something that brings you happiness.

Sometimes the simplest things bring me joy. Just sitting on the couch with either (or even better, both) of my dogs makes me feel loved, special, and happy. Singing along to my favorite artists’ music makes me feel good inside. Taking a break from schoolwork to watch a 21-minute episode of a show, usually The Office, brings me laughter and happiness. And when I’m lucky, spending time planning fun events–like attending a Blondie, Coldplay, or Harry Styles concert–can brighten my entire mood.

Start living your life to the fullest, and make sure that everyday you do something to bring you joy. If you don’t know where to start, here’s an idea: select a happy song for your life. A happy song is a song that makes you release all of your negativity, at least for the length of the song. Your happy song should have a positive message and should lift your spirits. My Nonna designated I Can See Clearly Now by Jimmy Cliff as our family’s happy song. Whenever someone was sad or had a bad attitude, she played I Can See Clearly Now and we had to become happy.

As a child, I thought it was so corny to have a happy song. Now, every time I hear the song I sing along and force myself to become happy. I hope the song brings you happiness, too. What other songs make you feel happy or inspire you? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Make Everyday a Bright, Sunshiny Day

  1. briannasiciliano says:

    Hi Willis! Thank you for your message! I definitely want to write better, non-boring posts, so can you tell me what interested you more in my previous posts?? I’d love to improve my content and topics. Anything you can suggest will be very, very helpful. Thank you! Brianna

    Like

Leave a Reply

