Alicia Keys’ Inspiring Uncovered Movement

A few days ago I came across a post about Alicia Keys embracing her natural skin and living a makeup-free lifestyle. Although I don’t wear makeup often (ok, I don’t wear makeup ever) or know how to apply makeup, I was curious to learn why the singer was taking a break from beauty products. To my surprise, she has been sporting a makeup-free look for longer than I realized and she created a public post to voice her story.

In her post, Alicia explains that before writing her album Here, she put together a list of things she was sick of. That list includes how women are pressured to be skinny, sexy, beautiful, and perfect. She explains her frustrations about the constant judgement and impossible standards that women receive and are held to. Alicia also reveals that as she was writing songs, she worried she wasn’t good enough for the world. Her daily thoughts were filled with worries that others were picking apart her insecurities, judging her solely off of her looks.

It wasn’t until she was photographed in, as she describes, her “run-to-the-shoot-so-I-can-get-ready look, not the actual photo-shoot look” that she felt empowered and beautiful as herself. Her uncovered self. She writes in her letter that she doesn’t want to cover herself up—whether it be her face, thoughts, or dreams—anymore. She is free, she is beautiful, she is raw. Although I don’t cover my face with makeup, I do cover my emotions, thoughts, and dreams with shields. I tend to hold myself back from embracing, accepting, and loving myself as I am because I worry that I am not good enough. If Alicia Keys can uncover herself, maybe I can, too.

We can all learn a thing or two from Alicia’s uncovered message. Read her post for yourself and let me know what you think! Does this remind you of another public figure or movement that has inspired you? What’s your takeaway? Could you go without makeup for a while, and if so, how do you think it would make you feel about yourself? Or if you feel empowered by wearing makeup, share what makeup means to you and your self-confidence! 

Leave a Reply

