Reaction to Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis is No Big Deal

A few months ago I was diagnosed with Under-active Thyroid and Hashimoto’s Disease, an autoimmune disease that attacks the thyroid. I went home from my Endocrinologist appointment and spent hours researching Hashimoto’s, but I could not find a lot of information about the disease or how to regulate it. To this day, I have trouble finding out more about what Hashimoto’s, or any autoimmune disease really, means.

This morning a video called “Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis is No Big Deal (included below)” caught my eye on YouTube. I have no clue what this disease means, but I know I’ll have it for the rest of my life. I thought to myself, “How is this no big deal?” Then, I gave the video a chance. I absolutely loved it, and if you have Hashimoto’s Disease—or know someone who does—I highly recommend watching it.

Dr. Chris Heimlich, DC created this video after one of his patients was told by a different doctor that Hashimoto’s was no big deal. Dr. Heimlich explains right away that Hashimoto’s is a big deal; autoimmune means your body doesn’t recognize something from your body coming from itself, so it attacks it. With Hashimoto’s, the thing your body likes to attack the most is your thyroid (along with other parts of your body, including the brain). Dr. Heimlich explains that Hashimoto’s is not a thyroid problem, however. It’s your immune system attacking the thyroid that’s the problem. He uses a scenario of a dog aggressively scratching your leg, and a doctor telling you to use bandages depending on the severity of the symptoms at the time, as a metaphor of Hashimoto’s, which I found very helpful.

There is no cure for Hashimoto’s, and treatment is not simple. It takes time and experimenting. People with Hashimoto’s have to address the immune system and focus on slowing down and modulating the immune system, rather than just the thyroid. We cannot get rid of Hashimoto’s once we have it, but we can get rid of some symptoms.
Make sure you find a practitioner to help you regulate and understand your Hashimoto’s. If you’re still confused about what the disease is, Dr. Heimlich’s video may help you just like it helped me.

Leave a Reply

